Make your own free website on

seasons title

Every year we have four seasons: winter, spring, summer and fall. Seasons are caused by the tilt of the earth on its axis as it is traveling around the sun. The tilt of the earth’s axis always stays the same, so during its one year trip around the sun (a revolution), sometimes the poles point towards the sun and sometimes they point away from the sun. Also, the north and south poles point in opposite directions so the northern and southern hemispheres experience the seasons at different times.

earth with hemispheres and equator labeled revolution picture comparison between seasons in the northern and southern hemispheres

We will take a closer look at each season and how they change during one revolution for the northern hemisphere. Click on any season below to see earth’s position at that time and more information:
image map of earth's position with sun for each season spring page link fall page link summer page link winter page link

After veiwing the website, you can print out these follow up activities:
For more information, contact Amanda Pasch at or visit one of the websites below:

Page last updated on: October 29, 2004

Back to top